Zamboanga Press Club inducts elected officers
Posted By Carlissa Horcerada | Monday, July 30, 2012 07:56:23 PM

The elected officers of the Zamboanga City Press Club. (Photo courtesy of Maria Ester Doroteo)

ZAMBOANGA CITY (Mindanao Examiner / July 30, 2012) – With the theme “31 Untiring Years of Preserving Press Freedom through Truthful Journalism,” the Zamboanga Press Club Incorporated has inducted its elected officers who vowed to uphold press freedom in this southern Philippine port city.

Secretary Herminio Coloma, Jr., of the Presidential Communications Operations Office, was invited to led the induction of the newly elected officers for the year 2012 to 2013 - Felipe Abuy (RPN-5-DXXX), President; Richard Falcatan (RMN), Executive Vice President; Monch Follosco (Zamboanga Today), Vice President for Print; Nonong Santiago (Zamboanga Today/GMA), Vice President for TV; Elsie Molina (Radyo Ng Bayan), Vice President for Radio; Ma. Ester Doroteo (RPN-5/DXXX); Treasurer, Jayvee Francisco (DXVP/GMA); Hermie Ventura (RMN), Auditor; Board Chairman Bong Garcia and the members of the Board of Directors are Hader Glang (Zamboanga Today), Eugene Lasprilla (Zamboanga Today), Jimmy Villaflores (RMN/DZT), Joey Bautista, Paul Reales (ABS-CBN), and Victor Campaner (RPN-5/DXXX).

The ceremony was attended by past press club presidents and local politicians, among other guests from the business sectors, the police and military.

Coloma told local journalists to be “innovative and resourceful in news writing by embracing the social media community where everyone can be an information provider with just one click.”

He also advised journalists to “always be truthful and credible in every way that we can as media practitioners” and ended his speech by “choose to write with passion and commitment.” (Carlissa Prieto Horcerada)

Protect Freedom of the Press!


© The Mindanao Examiner, 2006-2013. All Rights Reserved.